Lean In

I bumped into Sherly Sandberg late last year. Who is she? Sheryl Kara Sandberg is an American technology executive, activist, and author. She is the Chief Operating Officer of Facebook. Impressive right? That’s what I thought too.

Bae  introduced her to me and I downloaded her book Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead  which has been totally empowering and awesome.Here I am continents away and I could relate to some things she said!! What I learnt from her?

  1. Don’t be afraid to speak up.
  2. Negotiate that salary.
  3. Have a partner that understands your vision, mission, creed whatever you’re about (Hallelujah to that one).

From where I stand, leaning in in Nigeria is not in any way easy o. From the private sector to the public sector, Nigerian babes that are confident are seen as proud and obnoxious. What’s a girl to do?  Although Anne Marie Slaughter international lawyer, academic,foreign policy analyst, political scientist and  Director of Policy Planning for the U.S. State Department from January 2009 until February 2011 under U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton (the list is quite long) argues that women cant have it all, I think we can at least try. When walls come up against us let us look for a way out.

I recommend this book to girls and women who  dream of making something of themselves.  Happy reading and do learn something.  What do you think about women taking up leadership positions?

Leave a Reply

